BAFTA: discover the winners of the 2022 edition – Roster Con

While in Los Angeles the 27th Annual Critics Choice Awardsin London, the stars of the big screen had made an appointment for the prestigious BAFTA ceremony.

This 75th edition was an opportunity to see The Power of the Dogthe feature film by Jane Campion, winning Best Picture and Best Direction. A good omen for the race for Oscars 2022. Belfastwho was also in the running for the award for best picture and will have to face The Power of the Dog at the Oscars, won the prize for best British film.

Will Smith (King Richard), Ariana DeBose (West Side Story) and Troy Kotsur (CODA), who are also in the running for an Oscar, are again crowned in their respective categories as is the case in almost all the awards ceremonies of the season.

The film Dunesat the top of the nominations, for its part obtained five technical awards and is therefore the big winner of the evening since no other film has obtained more than two awards.

To discover the other winners of the evening, it is below.

Winners – British Academy Film Awards 2022

Best film
Don’t Look Up
Licorice Pizza
The Power of the Dog

Best British Film
After Love
Ali & Ava
Belfast – Winner
Boiling Point
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
House of Gucci
Last Night in Soho
No Time to Die

Best Debut for a British Writer, Director or Producer
After Love – Aleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling Point – James Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer) [aussi écrit par Philip Barantini et produit par Bart Ruspoli]
The Harder They Fall – Jeymes Samuel (writer/director) [aussi écrit par Boaz Yakin] – Winner
Keyboard Fantasies – Posy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
Passing – Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Best Foreign Language Film
Drive My Car – Ryūsuke Hamaguchi, Teruhisa Yamamoto – Winner
The Hand of God – Paolo Sorrentino, Lorenzo Mieli
Parallel Mothers – Pedro Almodóvar, Agustín Almodóvar
Little Mom – Céline Sciamma, Bénédicte Couvreur
The Worst Person in the World – Joachim Trier, Thomas Robsahm

Best Documentary
Becoming Cousteau – Liz Garbus, Dan Cogan
Cow – Andrea Arnold, Kat Mansoor
Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen. Monica Hellstrom
The Rescue – Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin, John Battsek, PJ Van Sandwijk
Summer of Soul (or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Ahmir Questlove Thompson, David Dinerstein, Robert Fyvolent, Joseph Patel – Winner

Best Animated Film
Encanto – Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino, Clarke Spencer – Winner
Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen. Monica Hellstrom
Luca – Enrico Casarosa, Andrea Warren
The Mitchells Vs the Machines – Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller

Best Director
After Love – Aleem Khan
Drive My Car – Ryūsuke Hamaguchi
Happening – Audrey Diwan
Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion – Winner
Titanium – Julia Ducournau

Best Original Screenplay
Being the Ricardos – Aaron Sorkin
Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
Don’t Look Up – Adam McKay
King Richard – Zach Baylin
Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson – Winner

Best Adapted Screenplay
CODA – Siân Heder – Winner
Drive My Car – Ryūsuke Hamaguchi
Dune – Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve
The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion

Best Actress
Lady Gaga – House of Gucci
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones – CODA
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person in the World
Joanna Scanlan – After Love – Winner
Tessa Thompson – Passing

Best actor
Adeel Akhtar – Ali & Ava
Mahershala Ali – Swan Song
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog
Leonardo DiCaprio – Don’t Look Up
Stephen Graham – Boiling Point
Will Smith – King Richard – Winner

Best Supporting Actress
Caitriona Balfe – Belfast
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story – Winner
Ann Dowd-Mass
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Ruth Negga – Passing

Best Supporting Actor
Mike Faist – West Side Story
Ciaran Hinds – Belfast
Troy Kotsur – CODA – Winner
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon
Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog

Best Soundtrack
Being the Ricardos – Daniel Pemberton
Don’t Look Up – Nicholas Britell
Dune – Hans Zimmer – Winner
The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood

Best cast
Boiling Point – Carolyn Mcleod
Dune – Francine Maisler
The Hand of God – Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
West Side Story – Cindy Tolan – Winner

Best Cinematography
Dune – Greig Fraser – Winner
Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen
No Time to Die – Linus Sandgren
The Power of the Dog – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Editing
Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune – Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza – Andy Jurgensen
No Time to Die – Tom Cross, Elliot Graham – Winner
Summer of Soul (or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Joshua L. Pearson

Best sets
Cyrano – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dune – Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos – Winner
The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side Story – Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Best costumes
Cruella – Jenny Beavan – Winner
Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini
Dune – Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French Dispatch – Milena Canonero
Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira

Best makeup and hairstyles
Cruella – Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
Cyrano – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
Dune – Love Larson, Donald Mowat
The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh – Winner
House of Gucci – Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

best sound
Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett – Winner
Last Night in Soho – Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
No Time to Die – James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II – Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side Story – Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Best Special Effects
Dune – Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer – Winner
Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix Resurrections – Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, JD Schwaim
No Time to Die – Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

Best British Animated Short Film
Affairs of the Art – Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
Do Not Feed the Pigeons – Jordi Morera – Winner
Night of the Living Dread – Ida Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

Best British Short Film
The Black Cop – Cherish Oteka – Winner
Female – Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The Palace – Jo Prichard
Stuffed – Theo Rhys, Joss Holden-rea
Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee – Michael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

EE Rising Star Award (Audience Vote)
Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
Lashana Lynch – Winner
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit McPhee

This article talks about…

We wish to say thanks to the author of this write-up for this remarkable content

BAFTA: discover the winners of the 2022 edition – Roster Con