Césars, Oscars, BAFTA: the calendar of cinema ceremonies

Oscars, Césars, BAFTAs, Golden Globesâ?¦ The vocabulary of cinema abounds with names of awards distributed throughout the year. So much so that it is sometimes difficult to navigate. The day after the 41st Cesars ceremony, and on the eve of the Oscars ceremony, Sunday in Los Angeles, ask for the program of the main cinema meetings of the year.


The Golden Globe Awards â?? UNITED STATES

It’s the first big meeting of the year. Organized every year in Los Angeles since 1944, the Golden Globe Awards ceremony rewards the best film and television productions of the previous year. The voters are part of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, which brings together non-American journalists based in the United States. Fourteen prizes are awarded for cinema, divided into four categories: dramatic films, musical films or comedies, foreign language films and animated films. Feature films longer than 70 minutes released in the Los Angeles area in the previous year are eligible. The Golden Globe Awards are often considered the “antechamber to the Oscars”: winning a trophy is often a good omen for the queen ceremony of American cinema.

The Sundance film festival â?? UNITED STATES

Organized in Salt Lake City since 1985, under the aegis of the American actor Robert Redford, the Sundance Film Festival is one of the main events of independent cinema in the world. Each year, it rewards fiction films, documentaries and short films produced outside the major production studios. Depending on where their funding comes from, they are divided between US prices â?? at least 50% financing in the United States â?? and international â?? at least 50% of the financing abroad. Some great current directors made their debut there, such as Joel Coen, who won an award with “Blood for Blood” in 1985, or Quentin Tarantino, with the first out-of-competition broadcast of “Reservoir Dog” in 1992.

VIDEO. Robert Redford: “The principle remains the same, tell stories”



The BAFTA Awards â?? United Kingdom

The British Academy of Television and Film Arts (BAFTA) awards around twenty awards each year, open to films from all sources, plus 4 exclusively British awards. Awarded since 1947, the BAFTA Awards are open to films over 70 minutes â?? for the feature film categories â?? broadcast widely in the United Kingdom between January 1 of the previous year and the day before the ceremony. Small particularity: in addition to cinematographic and television works, the academy chaired by Prince William also rewards since 1998 the best video games of the year.

The Berlinale – Germany

Along with Cannes and Venice, the Berlin International Film Festival, also called “Berlinale”, is one of the main international film festivals. The jury, made up of personalities from the cinema and the world of the arts, awards the “Golden Bear” each year for the best film from a selection of international feature films. To be eligible, they must meet several criteria: have a duration of at least 70 minutes, not participate in any other international festival and have never been broadcast elsewhere than in their country of origin. A dozen other awards are given, including the Grand Jury Prize, the prizes for best actor and actress and the prize for best screenplay.

VIDEO. The 2016 Berlinale opening red carpet


The Caesars – France

The Césars, the French equivalent of the American Oscars, have been awarded every year since 1976. Twenty-two awards are given, including five major ones: best film, best director, best screenplay, best actor and best actress. They are reserved exclusively for French films, with the exception of a single â?? the César for best foreign film. “All feature films theatrically released during the year prior to any further public showing (

Editor’s note, outside the cinema

), all genres combined (fiction, documentary, animation), and respecting the minimum conditions of exposure defined by the Regulations of the Academy, can compete”, specifies the Academy of cinema arts and techniques in its regulations.

The Oscars â?? UNITED STATES

The star event of American cinema is held every year at the end of February. Awarded since 1929 by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Oscars are open â?? for the feature film categories â?? to all films over 40 minutes shown exclusively in cinemas and presented in the United States the year preceding the ceremony. Twenty-four awards are given each year during a ceremony held since 2002 at the Dolby Theater in Hollywood.

VIDEO. Inside the Oscars Voting (2014)



The Cannes Film Festival – France

Founded in 1946, the Cannes Film Festival has become over the years the most publicized film festival in the world. For twelve days in May, around 80 films are screened in cinemas in Cannes. A jury made up of world-renowned film professionals awards the festival’s seven major awards among the films included in the official selection: the Palme d’or for best film, the Grand Prize, the Director’s Prize, the for female and male interpretation, the Screenplay Prize and the Jury Prize. To be eligible for the official selection, a film must have been produced in the year preceding the festival, have been shown only in its country of origin and not have taken part in any other international competition. Other special prizes are awarded during the fortnight, such as the “Caméra d’or” for the best first film.

VIDEO. The red carpet of the 2015 edition


The Venice Film Festival – Italy

Berlin has its Golden Bear, Cannes its Palme d’Or, Venice has chosen the Golden Lion. The Venice International Film Festival, the

Mostra di Venezia

in Italian, is the third major international film festival. Created in 1932, it is also the oldest of the three. Like the other two, it does not allow films that have competed in another international competition to claim the awards. Nine prizes are awarded among the films in the official selection: the Golden Lion for the best film, the Silver Lion for the Grand Jury Prize, the Volpi Cups for male and female interpretation, the Osella Prizes for the best screenplay and best technical contribution, the Mascello-Mastroianni Award for Most Promising Actor and the Queer Lion. The latter is a small exception in the galaxy of film awards: created in 2007, it rewards films that have homosexuality as their theme.


The Toronto Film Festival – Canada

Created in 1976, the Toronto festival is gradually competing with the other international events of the year on the commercial level. Between 300 and 400 films are shown each year during the 11 days of the event. Having no vocation for competition, it does not reveal any awards but does award a few prizes for Canadian films (best film, best first film and best short film) and awards linked to the public’s vote.

The Deauville American Film Festival – France

Non-competitive when it was created in 1975, the Deauville American Film Festival has been awarding its Grand Prix since 1995, designated by a jury of big names in cinema, as well as five other awards. To be eligible, each film â?? fiction or documentary â?? must have been produced at least in part by a company based in the United States, be unpublished in France and not have participated in any other major competition in Europe. The duration must be at least 75 minutes: no prize is foreseen for short films.

We wish to say thanks to the author of this post for this outstanding content

Césars, Oscars, BAFTA: the calendar of cinema ceremonies