Cinema: Who are the headliners of the FIFM 2022 jury?



© Provided by Yabiladi

President of the jury of the 19th edition of the Marrakech International Film Festival, the Italian director Paolo Sorrentino will be surrounded by eight members, who have made a name for themselves in the seventh art as well as in theater and series. A casting worthy of the universality of the seventh art, which notably includes Laïla Marrakchi and Nadine Labaki.

The Marrakech International Film Festival has unveiled the names of the members of its prestigious jury for the 2022 edition, which will be held from November 11 to 19. Around President Paolo Sorrentino, we find eight big names in the seventh art, from ten countries and four continents.

The great Italian filmmaker is thus joined by “Danish director Susanne Bier, American-Guatemalan actor and producer Oscar Isaac, British actress Vanessa Kirby, German actress Diane Kruger, Australian director Justin Kurzel, director and actress Lebanese Nadine Labaki, Moroccan director Laïla Marrakchi and French actor Tahar Rahim,” the organizers said.

“Representing 10 different countries from 4 continents, the jury of this 19th edition is like the Marrakech International Film Festival, an event that celebrates world cinema,” added the same source. Each of the actors and directors selected will also bring a part of their cinematographic universe, also making this edition of the FIFM a real incarnation of the seventh art as a universal language.

An eclectic who embodies several genres of cinema

Multi-award winning screenwriter and director Susanne Bier moreover situates his work in a universal and general public context, while anchoring it in intimacy, emotions and the complexity of family ties, notably in his films “After the Wedding” (2006) or his Oscar-winning opus Revenge (2010).

Also multi-award winning, Oscar Isaac recently at the SAG Awards and Emmy Awards, for her role in the HBO and Hagai Levi’s adaptation of “Scenes from Married Life.” In 2014, he earned an Independent Spirit Award and a Golden Globe nomination for his portrayal of the title character in Joel and Ethan Coen’s film ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’.

Nominated for BAFTAs, Golden Globes and Oscars, vanessa kirby enjoys worldwide success for his work in film, television and theatre. She began her theater career playing under the direction of David Thacker, with a first appearance in “They were all my sons” by Arthur Miller, which earned her the BISA Prize for revelation. She plays in “Charlie Countryman” (2013) by Fredrik Bond, “About Time” (2013) by Richard Curtis, “Queen and Country” (2014) by John Boorman and “Jupiter: The Fate of the Universe” (2015 ) by Lana and Lili Wachowski.

Diane Kruger was propelled onto the international scene thanks to the role of Hélène in the film “Troy” (2004) by Wolfgang Petersen. Other notable roles followed, in “Wicker Park” (2004) by Paul McGuigan, “The Pupil of Beethoven” (2006) by Agnieszka Holland, “Goodbye Bafana” (2007), “Inglorious Bastards” (2009 ) by Quentin Tarantino, among others. She is also best known for her award-winning role in Fatih Akin’s “In the Fade” (2017).

Justin Kurzel directed his first feature film, “The Crimes of Snowtown” (2011), for which he won the AACTA Award for Best Director and the Film Critics Circle of Australia Awards in the same category, as well as the Jury Prize at the FIFM. He is also the author of an adaptation of Shakespeare’s Macbeth (2015), as well as “Assassin’s Creed” (2016) and “The Kelly Gang” (2019).

Nadine Labaki was propelled onto the world cinema scene thanks to her film “Caramel” (2007). She has a string of successes with her multi-award-winning films “And now, where are we going?” (2011) and “Capernaüm” (2018), Jury Prize at the official Cannes competition, selected for the BAFTAs, the Golden Globes, the Césars and the Oscars.

Laila Marrakchi marked Moroccan cinema with his first film which became generational, “Marock” (2005), selected at the Cannes Film Festival in the Un certain regard section. His second film, “Rock the Casbah” (2013), brings together a prestigious cast including Hiam Abbas, Nadine Labaki, Lubna Azabal, Morjana Alaoui and Omar Sharif. Laïla Marrakchi has also directed five episodes of the series “The Legends Office”, as well as two episodes of “The Eddy”, created by Damien Chazelle for Netflix. Her next feature film “La Más Dulce”, deals with the plight of Moroccan workers in the strawberry fields in Spain.

Tahar Rahim was revealed in 2009 by Jacques Audiard, who offered him the main role in his film “A Prophet”, Grand Prix of the Cannes Film Festival and distinguished by nine Césars, including that of best male hope and that of best actor. His international career began with “The Eagle of the Ninth Legion” (2011) by Kevin Mcdonald, “Love and Bruises” (2011) by Lou Ye and “Or Noir” (2011) by Jean-Jacques Annaud. He is also featured in “Le Passé” by Asghar Farhadi, “The Cut” (2014) by Fatih Akin, “Les Anarchistes” (2015) by Elie Wajeman, among others. We find him in the series “The Serpent”, recently on Netflix, and in “Designated Guilty” (2021) by Kevin Mcdonald.

The international jury will award the Gold Star to one of the fourteen first and second feature films in the competition, dedicated to discovering filmmakers around the world. He will deliver his verdict during the closing night of the festival, November 19, 2022.

We want to say thanks to the author of this short article for this awesome content

Cinema: Who are the headliners of the FIFM 2022 jury?