“Joker” is nominated in 11 categories at the BAFTA Awards

Joker, The Irishman and Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood dominate BAFTA nominations revealed this tuesday morning in london.

1917The Irishman, Joker, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood and Parasite are nominated in the Best Film and Best Director categories; like to Golden Globesno woman is named in this last category.

1917, bait, For Sama, Rocketman, Sorry We Missed You and The Two Popes are nominated for the BAFTA for Best British Film. France is represented by Portrait of the girl on firewhich will face The farewell, For Sama, Pain and Glory and Parasite in the Best Foreign Language Film category.

Margot Robbie nominated for two films

Jokerfor which Joaquin Phoenix received the Golden Globe for Best Actor in a Drama, is nominated in 11 categories, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor and both Best Supporting Actor awards. Margot Robbie actress is nominated for two different films by the category Best actress in a supporting role, for Scandal and Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood.

Besides DiCaprio, Adam Driver (Marriage Story), Taron Egerton (Rocketman), Joaquin Phoenix (Joker) and Jonathan Pryce (The Two Popes) are nominated for Best Actor. The Best Actress will be chosen between Jesse Buckley (wild rose), Scarlette Johansson (Marriage Story), Saoirse Ronan (The Daughters of Dr. March), Charlize Theron (Scandals) and Renée Zellweger (Judy).

New category

Tom Hanks, Anthony Hopkins, Al Pacino, Joe Pesci and Brad Pitt are nominated for Best Supporting Actor, and Laura Dern, Scarlett Johansson, Florence Pugh and Margot Robbie for Best Supporting Actress.

This year, the Academy introduces a new category, the first since 2006, “Best Casting”, which rewards a director or a casting director. Shayna Markowitz for JokerDouglas Aibel and Francine Maisler for Marriage StoryVictoria Thomas for Once Upon a Time… in HollywoodSarah Crowe for The Personal History of David Copperfiel and Nina Gold for The Two Popes are named in this new category.

Young talents

The list of nominees for the “Rising Star” category, created in 2006, was unveiled in London on Monday by Tom Hiddleston. Awkwafina for The Farewell (role for which she has just obtained a Golden Globes), Kaitlyn Dever for BooksmartKelvin Harrison Jr. for wavesMichael Ward for Blue Storyand Jack Lowden for A family in the ring compete for this prize which rewards emerging talent.

The Rising Star award is the only award determined by public votes. James McAvoy won the first prize in 2006, and he has since been followed by actors and actresses like Kristen Stewart, Tom Hardy, John Boyega or Letitia Wright.

Kathleen Kennedy, president of Lucasfilm, must also receive the BAFTA Fellowship, one of the most prestigious awards from the British Academy, which highlights the success of a personality in several forms of cinema.

Ceremony presented by Graham Norton

Full list of nominees is available on the British Academy website. It was announced this Tuesday by Asa Butterfield, the main actor of the series Sex Education and Ella Balinska, seen in Charlie’s Angels. The 73rd BAFTA Awards will take place on Sunday February 2 and will be hosted by comedian and host Graham Norton from the Royal Albert Hall in London.

The season of the awards ceremonies has been in full swing for a few weeks. The 2020 Golden Globes ceremony, which traditionally kicks off the year, was held this Sunday in Los Angeles and was partly dominated by the British in several categories. Oscar voters have until Tuesday to nominate their favorites in the various categories; the list of nominees will be unveiled on January 13 in Los Angeles.

We wish to give thanks to the author of this article for this remarkable web content

“Joker” is nominated in 11 categories at the BAFTA Awards