Karlovy Vary pays tribute to Geoffrey Rush and Benicio Del Toro

– The Czech festival will award the Oscar-winning actors, respectively, the Crystal Globe for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema and the President’s Award

This article is available in English.

The 56th edition (1-9 July) of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival (KVIFF – see the news on the line-up) will honor two Oscar-winning actors who will receive awards during the festival’s closing ceremony. “We are honored and delighted that two extraordinary actors we have deeply admired for many years have accepted our invitation to come to Karlovy Vary,” said KVIFF’s president, Jiří Bartoška.

(The article continues below – Commercial information)

The Crystal Globe for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema will be presented to Australian actor Geoffrey Rush. Rush won an Oscar, a Golden Globe and a BAFTA for his role as pianist David Helfgott in Scott Hicks’ shinereceived a Tony Award for portraying the protagonist in Eugène Ionesco’s Exit the Kingand earned an Oscar and a Golden Globe nomination for his turn as therapist Lionel Logue in the biopic drama The King’s Speech [+lire aussi :
interview : Tom Hooper
fiche film
, for which he eventually won a BAFTA Award. The festival will screen The King’s Speech, Quills and shine as an homage to the actor.

The Festival President’s Award, which is given to actors, directors and producers who have made a fundamental contribution to the development of film and cinema, will go to Oscar-winning thesp and producer Benicio Del Toro. Del Toro has been one of Hollywood’s most frequently cast actors since the 1990s, appearing in The Usual SuspectsGuy Ritchie’s gangster comedy Snapthe mystery-thriller The Pledge and Alejandro González Iñárritu’s 21 Grams, which earned him his second Oscar nomination and an Audience Award at the Venice Film Festival. Del Toro won the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor, a Golden Globe, a BAFTA, a Silver Bear at the Berlinale and numerous other awards for his portrayal of a corrupt cop in Steven Soderbergh’s Traffic. Both Traffic and The Usual Suspects will be screened in celebration of the actor.

The festival will also be inaugurating a new venue at its upcoming edition, closely connected to its official online television channel, KVIFF.TV (see the news). The multifunctional KVIFF.TV Park will host audience contests and public forums with filmmakers, and is also a place where visitors can relax and enjoy refreshments. It will be located next to the festival’s main hub, the Hotel Thermal.

Lastly, the full list of juries for the 56th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival has been unveiled. The Crystal Globe jury included Argentinian film producer Benjamin DomenechGerman filmmaker Jan Ole GersterPolish distributor and festival organizer Roman Gutekinternational sales agent and producer Fiorella Morettiand Danish film editor and screenwriter Molly Malene Stensgaard.

The Proxima jury is made up of Filipino producer Bianca BalbuenaIcelandic documentarian Yrsa Roca FannbergCzech music journalist, filmmaker and writer Pavel KlusakAmerican-distributor Michael Rosenberg and Ukrainian film director Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy.

As for the non-statutory ones, the FIPRESCI jury includes Nada Azhari Gillon, Britt Sorensen, Adam Kruk, Gulnara Abikeyeva, Rasha Hosny and Marek Cermak; the ecumenical jury consists of Annette Gjerde Hansen, Veronika Liskova and Theo Peporte; and finally, Edit Csenki, Leena Närekangas and Kis-Rauff will serve on the Europa Cinemas Label jury.

The 56th edition of KVIFF runs from 1-9 July, and the complete line-up is available here.

(The article continues below – Commercial information)

We would love to thank the author of this short article for this outstanding web content

Karlovy Vary pays tribute to Geoffrey Rush and Benicio Del Toro