Luxembourg launches two new national cultural prizes

The Minister of Culture, Sam Tanson, announced on Monday, September 19, the creation of a new national prize in the field of visual arts, the Lëtzebuerger Konschtpräis.

Endowed with 10,000 euros, this biennial prize aims to distinguish an artist for all of his work, his career as well as his lasting commitment to the Luxembourg artistic scene. Are therefore eligible artists active in the field of visual arts, of Luxembourg nationality, living / working in Luxembourg or having a strong cultural anchorage in the artistic scene of the country.

A jury made up of five members recognized for their expertise in the field of visual arts was appointed by the Minister of Culture. For the 2022 edition of the prize, the members of the jury are:

  • Jamie Armstrong, art historian and head of the Lëtzebuerger Konschtarchiv;
  • Marie-Claude Beaud, art historian, exhibition curator and museum director;
  • Lucien Kayser, art critic and president of the arts and letters section of the Grand-Ducal Institute;
  • Paul Reiles, jurist, director of the National Museum of History and Art and former president of the National Cultural Fund;
  • Edmond Thill, museum educator, former head of the educational service at the National Museum of History and Art and secretary of the arts and letters section of the Grand-Ducal Institute.

The first delivery of Lëtzebuerger Konschtpräis will take place on November 11, as part of Luxembourg Art Week.

New music awards

At the same time, Sam Tanson announced the creation of the Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser. These new music awards are intended to be given out every three years, in six categories, namely:

  • The “National Music Prize” or “Nationale Musekspräis”, rewarding the career, work and commitment of an artist from the Luxembourg music sector, is endowed with 10,000 euros.
  • The “Nowuestalent” prize, rewarding a promising career that stands out for the dynamism of its course and the excellence of its recent achievements, is endowed with 2,500 euros.
  • The “Op der Bün” prize, rewarding one or more artists (performers and authors/composers) who have presented a particularly successful musical project over the past three years, is endowed with 3,500 euros.
  • The “Hannert der Bün” prize, honoring the creative work of a person or a team behind the scenes on a musical project of the last three years (sound engineer, light technician, manager, show producer, bookpublisher, administrator, etc.) is endowed with 3,500 euros.
  • The “Fräizäitmusek” prize rewarding the exceptional merit and the lasting commitment of one or a group of people who are remarkably involved in music during their leisure time, without however pursuing a professional career, is endowed with 2 500 euros.
  • The “Museksvermëttlung” prize rewarding an outstanding project, person or team in the mediation of music and the development of audiences is endowed with 3,000 euros.

Actors or personalities active in the music sector in Luxembourg, of Luxembourg nationality, residents or having a strong cultural anchorage in the country are eligible. With the exception of the ‘Nationale Musekspräis’, the prizes refer to an outstanding production of the last three years. Around forty “nominators” and “nominators”, music professionals, were invited to submit their favourites, on the basis of which shortlists which will be published on November 21 at the latest.

A jury made up of five members recognized for their expertise in the field of music and musical reception will select the winners in each category. For the 2022 edition, these members are:

  • Jamie Reinert, music journalist at public service media 100.7;
  • Thierry Hick, cultural journalist at the Luxemburger Wort;
  • André Neves, founder Magestick Records – Sony/ATV;
  • Cathy Krier, pianist and piano teacher;
  • Nina Schaeffer, light technician.

The Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser will be awarded at a public ceremony to be held on 21 December at the Rockhal.

These national prizes in two new categories thus complete the “system of awarding prizes highlighting cultural and artistic creations” corresponding to recommendation 21 of the Kulturentwécklungsplang 2018-2028.

After the Lëtzebuerger Theaterpräisser created in 2021, the Lëtzebuerger Danzpräis dating back to 2011 and the Batty Weber Award, created in 1987 already and which rewards a writer for a lifetime’s work every three years, all artistic expressions are thus recognized by national prizes. “Cultural awards are unique in that they go beyond simple recognition of the work and talent of their laureates. They also represent an enhancement of an entire creative sector, ”says the Minister of Culture, Sam Tanson. “Through these prizes, we aim to highlight not only individual designers but Luxembourg creation in general.”

We want to say thanks to the author of this write-up for this amazing web content

Luxembourg launches two new national cultural prizes