Publication of the Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser shortlists

Minister of Culture Sam Tanson is pleased to announce the nominees in the five categories of the Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser 2022. The creation of these new national awards for music is part of the reform of the Ministry’s awards policy, which aims to give artists from each artistic discipline the recognition they deserve. After the creation of the Lëtzebuerger Theaterpräisser in 2021 and the Lëtzebuerger Konschtpräis handed over to Berthe Lutgen on November 11, the launch of the Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser completes this policy.

Announced on September 19, the Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser will be awarded in ten different categories, including the “National Music Prize” or “Nationale Musekspräis” will be awarded to an artist in the sector to reward his career, his work and his commitment to Luxembourg music. This is endowed with 10,000 euros.

In the other five categories, the prizes refer to an outstanding production of the last three years. Actors or personalities active in the music sector in Luxembourg, of Luxembourg nationality, residents or having a strong cultural anchorage in the country are eligible. The selection of these projects is done in a two-round procedure. For the first round, around forty “nominators” and “nominators”, music professionals, were invited to submit their favorites. On the basis of these appointments were established short list of the five most cited artist names here are:

The shortlists in the five categories:

Lëtzebuerger Musekspräis, category “Nowuestalent”

Endowed with 2,500 euros, this prize rewards a promising career that stands out for the dynamism of its career and the excellence of its recent achievements.

The nominees are:

  • Pit Brosius
  • Francis of Delirium
  • MAZ
  • Benjamin Kruithof

Lëtzebuerger Musekspräis, category “Op der Bün”

Endowed with 3,500 euros, this prize rewards one or more artists (performers and authors/authors-composers) who have presented a particularly successful musical project over the past three years.

The nominees are:

  • Francis of Delirium
  • MAZ
  • Reis Demuth Wiltgen
  • Artemandolin

Lëtzebuerger Musekspräis, category “Hannert der Bün”

Endowed with 3,500 euros, this prize honors the creative work of a person or a team behind the scenes on a musical project of the last three years (sound engineer, light technician, manager, producer show manager, booker, publisher, administrator, etc.).

The nominees are:

  • Stephanie Baustert
  • Tom Gatti
  • Charles Stoltz
  • Konektis Entertainment
  • Sasha Hanlet

Lëtzebuerger Musekspräis, category “Fräizäitmusek”

Endowed with 2,500 euros, this prize rewards the exceptional merit and the lasting commitment of one or a group of people who are remarkably involved in music during their leisure time, without pursuing a professional career.

The nominees are:

  • Big Band OPUS78
  • National Youth Orchestra
  • Hunnegstrepp
  • Luxemburg Philharmonia
  • Koll an Aktioun Festival

Lëtzebuerger Musekspräis, category “Musekvermëttlung”

Endowed with 3,000 euros, this prize rewards a remarkable project, person or team in the mediation of music and the development of audiences.

The nominees are:

  • Konektis Entertainment
  • OCL
  • Two Steps Twice
  • Beast
  • Klengen Maarnecher Festival

The National Musekspräis as well as the winners of each of the other five categories are decided in a second round by a jury of music professionals. For this first edition, the jury is made up of Jamie Reinert (music journalist at the Radio 100.7), Tiffany Saska (head of communications and press relations at the Philharmonie), Thierry Hick (cultural journalist at the Luxemburger Wort), André Neves (founder Magestick Records – Sony/ATV) and Cathy Krier (pianist and piano teacher). The secretariat of the jury is provided by Joé Haas from the Ministry of Culture. In addition to the prize money, the winning artists will receive an original trophy created by the artist Laurie Lamborelle.

The presentation of the first Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser will take place on Wednesday 21 December 2022 at the Rockhal in Esch/Belval. The ceremony, organized in collaboration with the Rockhal, will take place in the presence of the Minister of Culture, numerous artists and will be hosted by Sascha Ley and Mike Tock. It will be open to the public and free of charge, tickets will soon be available on the Rockhal website.

Communicated by the Ministry of Culture

We want to give thanks to the writer of this short article for this awesome web content

Publication of the Lëtzebuerger Musekspräisser shortlists