Glenn Close will chair the jury for the Zinemaldia Official Section

american actress Glenn Close will preside over the jury of the Official Section of the 70 San Sebastian Film Festivalwhich will be held between September 16 and 24 and which has already closed the list of films that will compete for the Golden Shell with the announcement this Friday of the last one, “A Woman”, by Chinese director Wang Chao.

The director of the Donostiarra event, José Luis Rebordinos, offered this Friday the latest details of this next edition in a ceremony attended by representatives of institutions, such as the San Sebastián City Council, the Gipuzkoa Provincial Council and the Basque Government, which make up part of the board of directors of Zinemaldia together with the Ministry of Culture.

The festival, after two editions conditioned by the pandemic, will celebrate its 70th anniversary with the capacity at one hundred percent, Rebordinos pointed out, who assured that his team is happy to return to normal after having “suffered a lot” and “worked hard” the previous two years to pull it off.

To the well-known Donostia awards that the French actress will receive Juliette Binoche and the Canadian director David Cronenberg a new winner could be added. “We are working on it and we hope we can confirm it,” said the person in charge of Zinemaldia, who has advanced that the surprise film of this edition will be accompanied by “a great star.” He has stated that with the platforms more work has come for the sector and, with it, greater difficulty in finding available international filmmakers.

This has not been the case of Glenn Close, winner of the 2011 Donostia Prize, who maintains a good relationship with the Festival and has gladly agreed to preside over a jury that also includes the journalist and writer Rosa Montero, the French casting director and filmmaker Antoinette Boulat, Danish director and screenwriter Tea Lindeburg, Argentine producer Matías Mosteirín, filmmaker and visual artist Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, from Lesotho, and Icelandic director and screenwriter Hlynur Pálmason.

Among the confirmed presences is that of the Nobel Prize for Literature Kazuo Ishiguro, who will come to San Sebastian for the presentation of “Living”, a British film directed by the South African Oliver Hermanus from his script and which will participate in Perlak.

Diane Kruger, Liam Neeson, Noémie Merlant, Nahuel Pérez Biscayart, Hannah Schygulla, Olivia Wilde and Vicky Krieps are other names in this edition along with those of Penélope Cruz and Ricardo Darín and a long list of the Spanish “star system”, including Emma Suárez, Isabel Coixet, Rodrigo Sorogoyen, Raúl Arévalo, Carla Simón, Alberto Rodríguez, Isaki Lacuesta, Juan Diego Botto, Eduard Fernández, Luis Tosar, Bárbara Lennie, Carmen Maura and Carmen Machi.

The almost endless lineup of Spanish representatives will be joined by a large delegation of Latin Americans, such as Santiago Mitre, Diego Lerman, Laura Mora, Manuel Abramovich, Santiago Loza, Natalia Beristain, Andrés Di Tella, Diego Céspedes, Patricio Guzmán, Manuela Martelli, Carolina Markowicz and Laura Baumister.

Some of the most relevant filmmakers of contemporary cinematography will also travel to accompany their latest productions, such as Sebastián Lelio, Ulrich Seidl with the actor Georg Fiedrich, Hong Sangsoo, Wang Chao and Christophe Honoré, who will do it together with the actors Vincent Lacoste and Paul Kircher. All of them are competing for the Golden Shell in the Official Section, which will be closed out of competition by Neil Jordan with “Marlowe”.

French cinema will be represented by filmmakers such as Claire Denis, the director, actor and screenwriter Louis Garrel, François Ozon and Thomas Salvador. Other figures of European cinema that will meet on the red carpet or will present their films to the public are the Romanian Cristian Mungiu and the Belgian Dardenne brothers.

From Asian cinema, the Japanese and Donostia Award winner Hirokazu Koreeda, Erik Shirai and Takayuki Fukata, among many others, are also expected. What did come to stay with the pandemic are the numbered tickets, which will go on sale on Sunday, September 11.

Among the novelties is the new tune that the festival will premiere this year, created by the composers Aranzazu Calleja and Maite Arroitajauregi (Musergo).

We would love to say thanks to the author of this post for this remarkable material

Glenn Close will chair the jury for the Zinemaldia Official Section