Teresa de Pedro from Zamora, Pioneers of Science Award

The Julio Pelaez Award to women pioneers of Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences granted by the Foundation Tatiana Pérez de Guzmán El Bueno has awarded the VII edition of this award to the Physicist Teresa de Pedro for his pioneering work at the dawn of the computingthe robotics and the artificial intelligence.

Theresa of Peter (Zamora, 1944) graduated in Physical Sciences from the Complutense University of Madrid (1967), when the percentage of women who entered university barely reached 20%. She chose Physics because she “could understand it reasoning, more than memorizing”. Since his undergraduate work on atomic Physics, began to break new ground, using one of the first computers that reached the universities (an IBM 1620), which brought her closer to the computing.

Teresa de Pedro, with her team and the autonomous car prototype LOZ

Thanks to his contacts with the calculation center of the CSIC He received a scholarship at the Institute of Electricity and Automatic CSIC, created by Jose Garcia Santesmases, considered the father of computing in Spain. Her work made her an expert in robotics and promoter of the artificial intelligence programs that gave rise to the autonomous vehicle, which circulates without a driver. In the 90s, he led the first Spanish group that put on the road a driverless car, which was also one of the first in the world.

“Platero” travels a hundred kilometers without a driver

The project culminated in 2014, when a small Citroen convertible they called “Silversmith” toured without a driver hundred kilometers, between Arganda del Rey and San Lorenzo de El Escorial. A system of navigation and artificial intelligence called “Autopía” guided the vehicle on its path determining its position and facilitating autonomous movement.

Teresa de Pedro’s computer applications touched different areas. From the design of a program to predict the contamination atmosphere in Madrid, using meteorological predictions, to the development of a simulator for the Naval War College or the design of a program artificial intelligencel (IA) to do the layout of tracks in circuits printed, until recently essential for the operation of all kinds of devices electronic.


With this award, Teresa de Pedro joins a cast of women ahead of their time for their work in the field of Physics, Chemistry or Mathematics, award-winning with the Julio Peláez Award to Pioneers of Science, which was awarded for the first time in 2016 to physics from the CSIC Teresa Rodrigo (Lérida, 1956 – Santander, 2020), for his cutting-edge work in the field of elementary particles in the large facilities where they are carried out.

They followed Maria Vallet Regí (2017), from the Complutense University, for his pioneering contribution to the field of mesoporous ceramic materials; consuelo martinez (2018), for his innovative adaptation of algebra to cryptography and the theory of error-correcting codes; Carmen Torras (2019), from the Institute of Robotics and Industrial Informatics (IRI, CSIC-UPC) of Barcelona, ​​a pioneer in Robotics; Maria Josefa Yzuelfrom the Autonomous University of Barcelona, ​​and Susana Marcos, from the CSIC Institute of Optics, who received the ex aequo award (2020) for their cutting-edge contribution in the field of optics; Y Carmen Najera (2021), from the University of Alicante, for their innovative research in asymmetric organocatalysis, a branch of Chemistry recognized with the Nobel Prize in 2021. This group was joined in 2019 by the Nobel Prize in Physics Donna Strickland, who received the first Medal of Honor of the Julio Peláez Award.


The jury of the VII edition of the Julio Peláez Award for Pioneering Women in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics, has been chaired by Maria Vallet Regí, Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the Complutense University of Madrid. They have acted as vocals, Miguel Angel BanaresResearch Professor at the Institute of Catalysis and Petrochemicals of the CSIC; Emilio Bujalance GarciaProfessor of Geometry and Topology at the National Distance Education University; Carmen Garcia GarciaResearch Professor at the Institute of Corpuscular Physics, Mixed Center of the University of Valencia and the CSIC; Pilar Lopez SanchoResearch Professor at the Institute of Materials Science of Madrid of the CSIC. consuelo martinezProfessor of Algebra at the University of Oviedo; Rosa Menendez, Research Professor at the National Coal Institute of the CSIC. And as secretary of the Jury, Francisca G. CaballeroResearch Professor at the National Metallurgical Research Center of the CSIC


The Foundation Tatiana Pérez de Guzmán el Bueno aims to help the scientific investigation and civic and environmental education for young people. currently finances 15 projects research and 30 contracts predocs of young scientists in the field of Neuroscience. In addition, it has the commitment to preserve the historical-artistic heritage inherited from Tatiana Pérez de Guzmán el Bueno, with the aim of contributing to the enrichment culture of the whole society, through research and dissemination of its legacy.

We would like to give thanks to the author of this short article for this remarkable content

Teresa de Pedro from Zamora, Pioneers of Science Award