Cannes Film Festival: here are all the films that have received the Palme d’Or since 1946

The 75th Cannes Film Festival awarded its Palme d’Or to Swedish director Ruben Östlund for his film “Without Filter”. On this occasion, (re)discover all the winners of the biggest international film competition, since its creation.

Awarded by the jury of the Cannes festival, the Palme d’Or is one of the most prestigious film awards in the world. Each edition of this unmissable event is accompanied by predictions, favorites and controversies.

Created in 1939, the Cannes film festival, which was to inaugurate its first edition in September of the same year, was forced to cancel everything due to the declaration of the Second World War. Sixty-three years later, a retrospective Palme d’Or was symbolically awarded to “Pacific Express” by Cecil B. DeMille, unanimously by a jury chaired by Academician Jean d’Ormesson.

Since its creation, some of the award-winning films have gone down in history, while others have fallen into oblivion.

It should be noted that until 1954, the ultimate reward had different denominations but it was not until the 1955 edition that the Palme d’Or made its first official appearance. Between 1964 and 1974, the International Grand Prix reappeared, but it was in 1975 that the Palme d’Or made its final return.

Find below all the distinguished films.

1946 : “The Battle of the Rail”, by René Clément (France)


1949 : “The Third Man”, by Carol Reed (United Kingdom)

1951 : “Mademoiselle Julie”, by Alf Sjöberg (Sweden) and “Miracle in Milan”, by Vittorio De Sica (Italy)

1952 : “Deux sous d’espoir”, by Renato Castellani (Italy) and “Othello” by Orson Welles (Morocco)

1953 : “The Wages of Fear”, by Henri-Georges Clouzot (France)


1954 : “The Gate of Hell”, by Teinosuke Kinugawa (Japan)

1955 : “Marty”, by Delbert Mann (USA)

1956 : “The World of Silence”, by Jacques-Yves Cousteau and Louis Malle (France)


1957 : “The Law of the Lord”, by William Wyler (United States)

1958 : “When the swans pass”, by Mikhail Kalatozov (USSR)

1959 : “Orfeu Negro”, by Marcel Camus (France)


1960 : “La Dolce Vita”, by Federico Fellini (Italy)

1961 : “Viridiana”, by Luis Buñuel (Spain) and “A long absence”, by Henri Colpi (France)

1962 : “The Given Word”, by Anselmo Duarte (Brazil)

1963 : “The Cheetah”, by Luchino Visconti (Italy)


1964 : “The Umbrellas of Cherbourg”, by Jacques Demy (France)

1965 : “The Knack… and how to get it”, by Richard Lester (United Kingdom)

1966 : “A man and a woman”, by Claude Lelouch (France) and “These gentlemen and ladies”, by Pietro Germi (Italy)


1967 : “Blow Up”, by Michelangelo Antonioni (United Kingdom)

1969 : “If…”, by Lindsay Anderson (United Kingdom)


1970 : “MASH”, by Robert Altman (USA)

1971 : “The Messenger”, by Joseph Losey (United Kingdom)

1972 : “The working class goes to paradise”, by Elio Petri (Italy) and “The Mattei Affair”, by Francesco Rosi (Italy)


1973 : “The Scarecrow”, by Jerry Schatzberg (USA) and “La Méprise”, by Alan Bridges (UK)

1974 : “Secret Conversation”, by Francis Ford Coppola (United States)

1975 : “Chronicle of the years of embers”, by Mohammed Lakhdar Hamina (Algeria)


1976 : “Taxi Driver”, by Martin Scorsese (USA)

1977 : “Padre Padrone”, by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani (Italy)

1978 : “The Tree of Clogs”, by Ermanno Olmi (Italy)

1979 : “The Drum”, by Volker Schlöndorff (FRG) and “Apocalypse Now”, by Francis Ford Coppola (USA)


1980 : “Kagemusha”, by Akira Kurosawa (Japan) and “All That Jazz”, by Bob Fosse (USA)

nineteen eighty one : “Iron Man”, by Andrzej Wajda (Poland)

1982 : “Missing”, by Costa-Gavras (USA) and “Yol”, by Yilmaz Güney (Turkey)

1983 : “The Ballad of Narayama”, by Sohei Imamura (Japan)


1984 : “Paris Texas”, by Wim Wenders (FRG)

1985 : “Dad is on a business trip”, by Emir Kusturica (Yugoslavia)

1986 : “Mission”, by Roland Joffé (United Kingdom)


1987 : “Under the Sun of Satan”, by Maurice Pialat (France)

1988 : “Pelle the Conqueror”, by Bille August (Denmark)

1989 : “Sex, lies and video”, by Steven Soderberg (United States)


1990 : “Wild at Heart (Sailor and Lula)”, by David Lynch (USA)

1991 : “Barton Fink”, by Joel Coen (USA)

1992 : “The Best Intentions”, by Bille August (Sweden)

1993 : “The Piano Lesson”, by Jane Campion (New Zealand) and “Adieu ma concubine”, by Chen Kaige (China)


1994 : “Pulp Fiction”, by Quentin Tarantino (USA)

1995 : “Underground”, by Emir Kusturica (Federal Republic of Yugoslavia)

1996: “Secrets and Lies”, by Mike Leigh (United Kingdom)


1997 : “The Taste of Cherry”, by Abbas Kiarostami (Iran) and “The Eel”, by Sohei Imamura (Japan)

1998 : “Eternity and a Day”, by Theo Angelopoulos (Greece)

1999 : “Rosetta”, by Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne (Belgium)


2000 : “Dancer in the Dark”, by Lars von Trier (Denmark)

2001 : “The Son’s Room”, by Nanni Moretti (Italy)

2002 : “The Pianist”, by Roman Polanski (Poland/France)


2003 : “Elephant”, by Gus Van Sant (USA)

2004 : “Fahrenheit 9/11”, by Michael Moore (USA)

2005 : “The Child”, by Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne (Belgium)


2006 : “The Wind Rises”, by Ken Loach (United Kingdom)

2007 : “4 months, 3 weeks, 2 days”, by Cristian Mungiu (Romania)

2008 : “Between the walls”, by Laurent Cantet (France)


2009 : “The White Ribbon”, by Michael Haneke (Austria)

2010 : “Uncle Boonmee, the one who remembers his past lives”, by Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Thailand)

2011 : “The Tree of Life”, by Terrence Malick (USA)


2012 : “Love”, by Michael Haneke (Austria)

2013 : “The Life of Adele”, by Abdellatif Kechiche (France)

2014 : “Winter Sleep”, by Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey)


2015 : “Dheepan”, by Jacques Audiard (France)

2016 : “I, Daniel Blake”, by Ken Loach (United Kingdom)


2017 : “The Square”, by Ruben Östlund (Sweden)

2018 : “A Family Affair”, by Hirokazu Kore-Eda (Japan) and “The Image Book”, by Jean-Luc Godard (Switzerland/France)

2019 : “Parasite”, by Bong Joon-ho (South Korea)


2021 : “Titanium”, by Julia Ducournau (France)

2022 : “Without Filter”, by Ruben Östund (Sweden)

We would love to say thanks to the author of this short article for this incredible content

Cannes Film Festival: here are all the films that have received the Palme d’Or since 1946