Janice Stein chairs the international jury for the 32nd annual Lionel Gelber Prize

Janice Stein chairs the international jury for the 32nd annual

The Book Prize is awarded annually to the best English-language non-fiction work on international affairs —

TORONTO and WASHINGTON, Jan. 12, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — Janice Stein will preside over an international jury of experts for the Lionel Gelber Award 2022, which is awarded annually to the best work of non-fiction in English on foreign affairs.

This year’s jury consists of its president Janice Stein (Toronto, Canada), and of Janine di Giovanni (New York), Francis J. Gavin (Washington, DC), James Goldgeier (Washington, DC) and Doug Saunders (Toronto, Canada).

“The Lionel Gelber Prize was created to deepen public debate on important international issues,” said Judith Gelber, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Lionel Gelber Award. “For more than three decades, the prize has highlighted some of the world’s most important works of non-fiction in the field of foreign affairs, on topics ranging from security and inequality to the rise of authoritarianism and the future of democracy. We are delighted to welcome this year’s esteemed jurors”.

Key dates : The jury will announce its selection of five books on February 8, 2022, followed by the broadcast of podcast interviews with each of the finalists. The winner will be announced on April 12, 2022 and will participate in an online event co-sponsored by Foreign Policy and the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy from the University of Toronto.

About the Prize: The Lionel Gelber Prize, a literary prize rewarding the best work of non-fiction in English on foreign affairs, was founded in 1989 by the Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. The winner receives a reward of 15 000 dollars. The prize is awarded annually by the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy from the University of Toronto, in partnership with the magazine Foreign Policy.


About the Jury of Lionel Gelber Award 2022:

Janice GrossStein, president of the jury (Toronto, Canada) is the founding director of the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy from the University of Toronto and holder of the Belzberg Chair in Conflict Management in the Department of Political Science and the Munk School. She is an honorary member of the Royal Society of Canada and Honorary Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Professor Stein was the speaker Massey in 2001 and Trudeau Foundation Scholar. The board of the Arts Canada awarded him the Molson Prize for the exceptional contribution made by a social scientist to the public debate. She has earned four honorary doctorates and is a member of the Order of Canada and the Order of theOntario. She is a frequent contributor to CBC, BBC and TVO shows.

Janine di Giovanni (New York, NY), senior fellow at the Yale Jackson Institute for Global Affairs, has reported on some of the world’s most violent conflicts and wars for more than three decades, investigating and documenting human rights abuses in the Middle East, Africa and in the Balkans. She currently leads Enabling Witnesses, a project sponsored by the United Nations Democracy Fund that promotes transitional justice in Yemen, Iraq and Syria. In 2019, she was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for her lifetime research in the Middle East, and in 2020 she received the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ highest award for nonfiction, Blake Dodd, for his work over the past 30 years. She is a multi-award-winning writer and author, currently a global affairs columnist for Foreign Policy magazine and the English-language dailyAbu Dhabi, The National, and a regular contributor to The Washington Post, New York Times and many other publications. His ninth book, The Vanishing: Faith, Loss and the Twilight of Christianity in the Middle East, was published by Public Affairs in October 2021.

Francis J. Gavin (Washington, DC) is the Distinguished Professor John Agnelli and the first director of the Henry A. Kissinger Center for Global Affairs at the University’s School of Advanced International Studies Johns Hopkins. In 2013, Gavin was named the first chairholder Frank Stanton in Nuclear Security Policy Studies and Professor of Political Science at the MIT. Before joining the MIThe was the teacher Tom Slick of International Affairs and Director of the Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law at the University of Texas. Gavin is the chairman of the editorial board of the Texas National Security Review. He notably wrote Gold, Dollars and Power: The Politics of International Monetary Relations, 1958-1971 and Nuclear Statecraft: History and Strategy in America’s Atomic Age. His latest book, Nuclear Weapons and American Grand Strategy, was published by Brookings Institution Press in 2020.

James Goldgeier (Washington, DC) is a visiting scholar at the Center for International Security and Cooperation at the University of Stanford, visiting scholar at the Brookings Institution and professor of international relations at theAmerican University. He is a senior advisor for the Bridging the Gap initiative, funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York and the Raymond Frankel Foundation. He is chairman of the State Department’s Historical Advisory Committee. He is the author or co-author of four books, and he has received book awards Edgar Furnis Book Award and the Georgetown University Lepgold Book Prize.

Doug Saunders (Toronto, Canada) is an international affairs columnist for The Globe and Mail. He has been an editor for the newspaper since 1995 and has extensive experience as a foreign correspondent, having run the Globe’s foreign bureaus in Los Angeles and in London. From 2003 to 2012, he was the London-based newspaper’s European bureau chief, responsible for covering more than 40 countries. He has reported extensively in the Middle East, North Africa, the Indian subcontinent and Asia from ballast. From 2013 to 2015, he was the newspaper’s online opinion editor and creator of the Globe Debate online section. D. Saunders has won the National Newspaper Award, Canada’s equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize, five times, including an unprecedented three consecutive awards for critical writing in 1998-2000, and prizes honoring him as the best columnist of the Canada in 2006 and 2013. He won the Stanley McDowell Award for writing, Schelling Prize in architectural theory, the Wenjin Book Prize of the National Library of China and the Price Donate.

To arrange an interview, please contact: Lani Krantz, Communications and Media Relations Specialist, at +1 (647) 407-4384 (sms preferred) or lani.krantz@utoronto.ca.

Photo – https://mma.prnewswire.com/media/1723400/The_Lionel_Gelber_Prize_Janice_Stein_Chairs_International_Jury_e.jpg

Janice Stein chairs the international jury for the 32nd annual

We want to thank the author of this short article for this amazing web content

Janice Stein chairs the international jury for the 32nd annual Lionel Gelber Prize